400 Gradi – Lygon St, Brunswick St

We ended up driving out to Lygon Street to try 400 Gradi, accompanied by a voucher I had bought online. A pretty good deal I must say. $39 for 2 entrees and 2 mains and a glass of wine each…now that’s value! Especially since I had checked out their menu before I bought, and it looked really good. Known for their wood fired pizzas, this wasn’t just any place that was struggling, and needed to fill up seats with more customers. So I snatched it up as soon as I saw the deal in my inbox.

We didn’t end up trying the pizzas unfortunately. Wish I had, because I’ve heard a few times since visiting how good they are. You can see the impressive wood fire oven in the open kitchen, and you can tell from what was coming out of it that these guys know how to do a good traditional pizza.

PG ordered the ginormous “T -bone fiorentina with wood oven roasted mushrooms”, which he said was cooked perfectly. Unfortunately I didn’t get a photo of it, but it was huge! And we ended up ordering dessert as well which wasn’t included in our voucher, purely because we were already impressed with our entrees and mains and couldn’t help but try something sweet too :) we shard the “pannacotta al miele - honey pannacotta with sticky vincotto, choc honeycomb crumb” and it was delish! nice and light after quite a heavy meal.

The Verdict

Great value with our voucher, definitely was impressed with the quality of food and the presentation as well. If I was to return it would be a bunch of friends, and to try their wood fire pizzas. I thought it was a little pricey for just a weekend lunch, but not a big issue since the quality and service was great. I also liked the fact that it wasn’t at the busy end of Lygon Street, and had a much better atmosphere as well.

400 Gradi
99 Lygon St
Brunswick East, VIC 3057

400gradi.com.au

400 Gradi on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “400 Gradi – Lygon St, Brunswick St

Leave a Reply

