Yu-U – Flinders Lane, Melbourne

Getting our Izakaya on with one of my best friends!

Always love a visit to Yu-U. I have brought a few of my friends here who come from interstate, and it never ceases to impress. If you want to take a guest somewhere to impress and show them what it’s like to dine in Melbourne, Yu-U is the place. Hidden doorway, and I mean hidden. It’s a metal door just off Flinders Lane, with nothing but a symbol next to it, so chances are you’ll walk past a few times before you find it! Once you’re in, it’s like you’ve been transported straight to Japan. Very intimate and quiet setting, with amazing service that stems from the beautiful culture and hospitality of the Japanese. The waitresses are all so polite and friendly. Food is exquisite, with delicate flavours and beautiful presentation that the Japanese are known for. I wanted to take more photos on this visit, as I hadn’t done so on any of my previous visits, however one of the waitresses very kindly came and told me that they don’t like photos….shame…it’s so hard to see a beautiful dish and not take photos when you’re a food blogger…SO hard! So unfortunately I only managed to snap our first two small dishes…

 The Verdict

You can probably tell by my first paragraph that I love Yu U, can’t recommend it enough to at least visit once. They do a good bento box for lunch as well, which is very light, but the flavours are so good that it’s amazing how satisfied you feel at the end of the meal :)

Yu U
137 Flinders Ln 
Melbourne, VIC 3000

Yu-U on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

