Two Birds One Stone – Claremont St, South Yarra

PG and I decided to venture outside of our usual local options for brunch for once…we have so many great options near us, that sometimes it feels like a bit of an effort to drive to other suburbs. But we were both in the mood to try somewhere different. Where to go?? SO many options!! Eventually we thought South Yarra would be a good area to go, and of course Two Birds One Stone was the first cafe that popped into my head. Knowing this was another venture by the guy who brought us Three Bags Full, I just had to try this place out.

two birds one stone

two birds one stone

two birds one stone

cappuccino

two birds

corn fritters

mocha

The Verdict

Two Birds One Stone definitely hits the mark with atmosphere and service, however the food ended up being a little disappointing. PG is not a hard man to please, but even he was less than impressed. To start off, the coffee was pretty mediocre, I definitely expected more from my cappuccino. The mocha that I had after my meal was definitely much nicer, but I think that was due to the beautiful fresh chocolate masking the flavour of the coffee. PG was not happy with his breakfast, he needed some sort of sausage or bacon with his meal, which seemed to be missing on the menu. We visited on a public holiday, and I know normally bacon and sausages or on the menu as an option to add, strangely enough it didn’t seem to be there…meaning PG didn’t feel quite complete at the end of this meal. In my opinion, regardless of the day, if you’re open for service you should have bacon and sausages well stocked at any brunch place. My corn fritters were great in texture and flavour, however I had two very tiny pieces of avocado and a measly portion of smoked salmon, which was no where near enough to eat with the fritters. I expected so much more, considering how much I love the food at Three Bags Full. I’m happy we visited, but I don’t think we’ll be back.

Two Birds One Stone
12 Claremont Street
South Yarra, VIC 3141

www.twobirdsonestonecafe.com.au

Two Birds One Stone on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Two Birds One Stone – Claremont St, South Yarra

  1. Yes I saw it on the menu online, but alas wasn’t on there the day we visited. It was the Monday of Australia Day long weekend…so not sure if they didn’t have it because they’d run out? Should definitely always be an option though for a big breafast! :)

Leave a Reply

