Hare and Grace – Collins St, Melbourne

My work christmas party for 2012 was held at the Hare and Grace, right in the heart of Melbourne CBD. Great little restaurant with a relaxed vibe and outdoor bar.

Hare and Grace

Hare and Grace

Hare and Grace

Hare and Grace

Hare and Grace

Hare and Grace

Hare and Grace

Hare and Grace

Hare and Grace

 

DSC_1141

Hare and Grace

Hare and Grace

The Verdict

To be completely honest, I was a little less than impressed. Service was very slow, and staff seemed quite inexperienced. They were definitely understaffed as well for such a busy period, with the restaurant filled with christmas functions that evening. Food was definitely a hit and miss. The scallop entree had way too much aioli, so much so you could barely find the scallop. And to say garlic was overkill would be an understatement. Luckily I love garlic, so this wasn’t so much an issue for me, however it was too rich and such a shame to overpower the delicate flavour and texture of the scallop. The beetroot salad was meant to be roasted, however it definitely tasted like it was either boiled or out of a can. The steaks unfortunately were completely different sizes across all that were ordered at the table, and not cooked to perfection. I was happy with the fish that I ordered, thank goodness I made the right choice with my main. Dessert was alright, nothing that made it stood out from all the other creme brulee’s I have eaten in the past. Overall the experience and food was quite satisfactory, and left me feeling a little disappointed as I had quite high expectations. I may even put it down to the fact that they couldn’t cope with the packed restaurant during Christmas. The standard potentially could be better if I paid another visit on another night. I have heard good reviews.

Hare and Grace
525 Collins Street
Melbourne, VIC 3000
www.hareandgrace.com

Hare & Grace on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

