Little Henri – High St, Thornbury

Little Henri has been on my list for a while to check out, but unfortunately distance and just being lazy on a weekend morning meant we never ventured this far north. So was quite excited when catching up with some friends who were local to the area suggested we go here for brunch! :)

My usual skinny cap - delicious, smooth coffee - was very impressed!

My usual skinny cap – delicious, smooth coffee – was very impressed!

Epic sized french toast with candied walnuts and drunken oranges

Epic sized french toast with candied walnuts and drunken oranges

PG's usual big breakfast

PG’s usual big breakfast…very generous serve, with everything cooked to perfection

Omelette with taleggio, thyme buttered mushrooms on grain bread. I'm coming back to try this one!

Omelette with taleggio, thyme buttered mushrooms on grain bread. I’m coming back to try this one!

corn fritters

Of course I had to order the fritters! Zucchini fritters with house smoked salmon, avocado and horseradish cream. I loved them – they were crispy, not to heavy and the horseradish cream was rich and another element to the dish. They tasted more like corn fritters and hardly noticed there was any zucchini in them.

The verdict

Definitely going to come back. I found it hard to decide between the mushroom and taleggio omelette and the fritters I ended up ordering. I wasn’t disappointed with my choice, but when my friend’s omelette dish came out I knew I had to come back again just to try it. Also the coffee here was beautiful…had to leave with a takeaway for the road :) My work colleague who lives in the area has also mentioned to me that their dinner here is also really nice. I have a new reason to start venturing out this way more often now :)

Little Henri
848 High St
Thornbury, VIC

Little Henri on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

