Dukes Coffee Roasters – Chapel St, Windsor

It’s not often that we decide to venture to Chapel St for brunch on a weekend, mainly because of the parking. So one weekday morning we decided it was a good opportunity! I’ve always loved Dukes Coffee, so was excited to sip on a nice cup of their coffee and try the food at their flagship cafe!

Dukes coffee

Dukes Coffee

I always love an open kitchen...especially ones with cheese on display!

I always love an open kitchen…especially ones with cheese on display!

Checking out the menu...decisions, decisions!

Checking out the menu…decisions, decisions!

Delicious Skinny Cap...first of 2 :)

Delicious Skinny Cap…first of 2 :)

Buttermilk pancakes with blueberries and maple syrup...PG said they were delicious!

Buttermilk pancakes with blueberries and maple syrup…PG said they were delicious!

Avovado Hummus toast, poached eggs, honey candied bacon and dukkah + my added side of smoked salmon (not necessary, but I just don't feel complete without it for brunch)

Avovado Hummus toast, poached eggs, honey candied bacon and dukkah + my added side of smoked salmon (not necessary, but I just don’t feel complete without it for brunch)

ahhh...perfectly cooked poached eggs!

ahhh…perfectly cooked poached eggs!

The verdict

If we ever venture back to Windsor, I’m definitely going to be coming back here. I have to try the corn fritters on their menu. Seeing them come out of the kitchen, they looked so crispy and presented so well! I also loved the atmosphere of this cafe, it wasn’t too open like some warehouse-style cafes are, where it doesn’t feel very cosy. It had a good balance, and felt quite classy at the same time.

PG enjoyed his pancakes, and polished off the whole thing (always a sign of a meal that was enjoyed). He said next time he comes back though, he would probably try something else on the menu as well. I really enjoyed my meal. It was hard to take a good photo before I dug in because of the huge amount of garnish, but it really worked with the dish and added to the freshness of all the flavours. In saying that, I love my greens, so there can never be too much garnish on my plate ;).  It was light and delicious, with a subtle added flavour from the dukkah. The candied bacon was something different as well. I wasn’t sure I’d like it because I’m not a huge bacon fan…but of course like most food for me, adding sugar to it made a great added element to the dish.

Don’t forget if you love your coffee and you’re in the city, make sure you check out their other outlet down Flinders Lane as well.

Dukes Coffee
169 Chapel St
Windsor, VIC 3181
www.dukescoffee.com.au

Dukes Coffee on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Dukes Coffee Roasters – Chapel St, Windsor

  1. That final photo certainly is the money shot as they say!

    Pssst I find it useful to have a few sneaky back street parking spots to hit up my sleeve. Try Charles St off Greville for Prahran or around James St area in Windsor; I can usually find something around there pretty quick.

    • Awesome! thanks for the tip :) Knowing that will definitely get me out there more often. Too many good options as well to be letting parking issues stop me anyway :)

Leave a Reply

