Tom Phat – Sydney Rd, Brunswick

It had been a long while since I had last caught up with one of my gf’s for dinner, so we managed to find a night mid-week that suited us and planned to meet up somewhere in Brunswick since it was in between the both of us. Tom Phat immediately popped into my head that morning when thinking of where we should go. I had never been, and I think my week long cravings for some good curry and Asian flavours had finally got the best of me. Once it was decided, I just couldn’t wait for some yummy food and good company :)

Tom Phat

Tom Phat

Tom Phat

Entrance to Bah Phat  - The bar area next door to Tom Phat

Entrance to Bah Phat – The bar area next door to Tom Phat

First entree - San Choi Bao w minced free-range chicken, lemongrass & lime

First entree – San Choi Bao w minced free-range chicken, lemongrass & lime

Second entree - Delicious Sezchuan Chilli-Salt Squid w green-chilli soy (gluten free)

Second entree – Delicious Sezchuan Chilli-Salt Squid w green-chilli soy (gluten free)

Massaman Curry of Goat w peanut, sweet potato, star anise & cassia

Massaman Curry of Goat w peanut, sweet potato, star anise & cassia

Vegan Crisp Fried Organic Silken Tofu w red pumpkin curry, basil & lime on rice

Vegan Crisp Fried Organic Silken Tofu w red pumpkin curry, basil & lime on rice

Wok Greens w garlic ginger & soy

Wok Greens w garlic ginger & soy

Coconut pannacotta w a spiced syrup and mango

Coconut pannacotta w a spiced syrup and mango

The Verdict

I was glad I had the opportunity to finally try Tom Phat, and it definitely satisfied my craving for some Asian flavours. Unfortunately they don’t take bookings, so on a Wednesday night we arrived at 7pm and were told it would be a 25 minute wait, which ended up being closer to an hour. We were starving by the time we got to our table, so it was great that the food comes out quite fast. I enjoyed both our entree dishes, but more so the Sezchuan squid – it was cooked perfectly and the tingly flavours of the Sezchuan really gets your mouth watering. I ordered the crisp tofu for my main, while my girlfriend ordered the massaman goat curry. The goat curry had delicious flavours, but im not a huge fan of goat meat so I’d definitely prefer it with lamb or beef, but that’s just my opinion. If you love any type of meat this will definitely still hit the spot.

I loved my crisp tofu curry –  there was just the right amount of beautifully fragrant thick curry sauce that didn’t drown the perfectly cooked crisp tofu. I would order this again if I came back for another visit, as well as some other unique items on the menu that I would definitely come back to try. Not to mention coming back to try their modern asian inspired breakfast menu as well!

Tom Phat
184 Sydney Rd
Brunswick, VIC 3056
www.tomphat.com.au

Tom Phat on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

